Books & Literature
Business & Careers
Encyclopedias
Education & Language
Health & Medicine
History & Genealogy
Kids & Teens
LGBTQ
Magazines & Newspapers
Science & Do-It- Yourself
Spanish/Español
Index

Index

Index - Articles & Databases

  • Academic OneFile Academic OneFile
    Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed; full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of all academic disciplines; Academic OneFile is authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily.
  • Adult Learning Center (Brainfuse) Adult Learning Center (Brainfuse)
    Dedicated to the unique needs of an adult population; Brainfuse's Adult Learning Center consists of a suite of services that; among other things; provides live job coaching; test preparation (such as the GED and the U.S. Citizenship Test); and academic skills building sessions from live online tutors.
  • Ancestry Library (SDPL Locations only) Ancestry Library (SDPL Locations only)
    Resources for genealogical and historical research; with more than 1.5 billion names in over 4;000 databases; including U.S. Census; military records; court; land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists; more. Updated daily. (at SDPL Locations only)
  • Archives of Sexuality and Gender Archives of Sexuality and Gender
    Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index Biography and Genealogy Master Index
    This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods; geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.
  • Biography In Context Biography In Context
    Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name; occupation; nationality; ethnicity; birth/death dates and places; or gender as well as keyword and full text.
  • BookFlix BookFlix
    A literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction; BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.
  • Books in Print Books in Print
    Publication information on 5 million book; audio book; and video titles. Includes Fiction Connection and Non-fiction Connection.
  • Business Insights: Global Business Insights: Global
    Business Insights: Global is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies; in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research; and the ability to compare global economies; countries and industries.
  • Business Plan Handbooks Business Plan Handbooks
    Collections of actual business plans compiled by; and aimed at; entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America.
  • cloudLibrary cloudLibrary
    cloudLibrary allows you to borrow and read a wide array of eBooks from the San Diego Public Library for free.
  • driving-tests.org driving-tests.org
    Practice the California driver’s license test, read the DMV handbooks, and get answers to your frequently asked questions.
  • Educator's Reference Complete Educator's Reference Complete
    Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals; hundreds of full-text reports; and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles; child development and psychology; and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. The database is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home.
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica; ed. 2 Encyclopaedia Judaica; ed. 2
    Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
  • enki Library enki Library
    The enki Library is a shared open source eBook Network that allows California libraries to own and store eBooks for access by library patrons; to share access to more content than any individual library can purchase on its own; to add features and functionality lacking in current third-party vendor models; and to share access to unique local digitized content with other libraries within the Network.
  • Gale Courses Gale Courses
    While your goals can range from career development through the acquisition of new skills and knowledge to personal enrichment aimed at a hobby or fulfilling a passion; continual education is essential to all aspects of life. Gale Courses provides the tools necessary for these pursuits - and to proclaim yourself a life-long learner!
  • Gale Directory Library Gale Directory Library
    The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products that particular libraries can choose from. Use it to search; sort and export information from both current directory editions as well as prior editions that are maintained as searchable backfiles. Multiple directories can be cross-searched or users can mine individual directories for the particular kinds of data they contain; such as financial information for companies; circulation figures for publications; and much more.
  • Gale Genealogy Connect Gale Genealogy Connect
    Gale Genealogy Connect includes the how-to of genealogy research in addition to the idiosyncrasies of genealogical research in specific subject areas. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced researcher looking for in-depth genealogy data this is the place to start your research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library; but now you can have 24/7 access to them online. Because the genealogy collection is unique to each library; the content you see may vary.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library; but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection; the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school; your public library; or your office).
  • General OneFile General OneFile
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business; computers; current events; economics; education; environmental issues; health care; hobbies; humanities; law; literature and art; politics; science; social science; sports; technology; and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles; many with images. Updated daily.
  • Government Documents Catalog Government Documents Catalog
    Catalog of U.S. Government Documents; covers period July 1976 - present. (SDPL Locations only)
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
    Find alternative medicine-focused magazines; journals; newspapers; definitions; directories; videos; & reference information on: Medicine; Nutrition; Diseases; Public Health; Pregnancy; Herbal remedies; etc. Included are links to diet; cancer; health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology; Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
  • HelpNow (Brainfuse) HelpNow (Brainfuse)
    A comprehensive suite of tutoring services designed for a range of academic needs; whether it's tackling a tough homework problem; learning an academic skill; or writing a term paper.
  • JSTOR (SDPL Locations only) JSTOR (SDPL Locations only)
    Includes scholarship published in more than 1;400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities; social sciences; and sciences; as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. (SDPL Locations only)
  • Literature Resource Center Literature Resource Center
    Full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works; literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works; journal articles; literature criticism; reviews; biographical information and overviews.
  • Los Angeles Times (1985 - present) (Proquest) Los Angeles Times (1985 - present) (Proquest)
    Los Angeles Times; fulltext. Coverage: 1985 - present.
  • MedlinePlus MedlinePlus
    The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine; it brings you information about diseases; conditions; and wellness issues in language you can understand.
  • MedlinePlus en Espanol MedlinePlus en Espanol
    MedlinePlus es el sitio web de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud para pacientes y sus familias y amigos. Producida por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina, MedlinePlus le brinda información sobre enfermedades, condiciones y bienestar en un lenguaje fácil de leer.
  • Mitchell ProDemand (Central only) Mitchell ProDemand (Central only)
    Service; diagnostics and estimating for vehicles online; 1983-current Domestic and Import Models; diagrams; tech bulletins; more. (Central Library only)
  • New York Times Historical (Proquest) New York Times Historical (Proquest)
    Complete run of The New York Times; from Sep 18; 1851 to Dec 31; 2010.
  • Newsstand (Gale) Newsstand (Gale)
    InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title; headline; date; newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally; a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand; you can search a collection of more than 1;000 newspapers; then select your own screen appearance; search options and results format.
  • Newsstand (ProQuest) Newsstand (ProQuest)
    National and regional newspapers. Includes The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
  • NoveList K-8 NoveList K-8
    Find fiction titles for classroom use or reading including picture books; children's chapter books; and young adult titles. Full-text book reviews; teacher resources; thematic units; and book talks are available. Search by theme; setting; instructional unit; and culture. For younger readers and teachers; updated monthly.
  • NoveList Plus NoveList Plus
    Guide to suggested reading for all ages with reviews and other features.
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context Opposing Viewpoints In Context
    Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series; the new solution features continuously updated viewpoints; topic overviews; full-text magazines; academic journals; news; primary source documents; statistics; images; videos; audio and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • RBdigital RBdigital
    RBdigital has the largest collection of digital audiobooks; including exclusive content from Recorded Books; as well as titles from all major publishers.
  • ReferenceUSA ReferenceUSA
    U.S. business; residential; and healthcare telephone directories and more.
  • Research in Context Research in Context
    Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
  • Rosetta Stone Rosetta Stone
    An e-Learning language training resource to help build language skills and provide immediate feedback to guide pronunciation for a variety of languages: Arabic; Chinese (Mandarin); Dari; Dutch; English (American); English (British); Filipino (Tagalog); French; German; Hebrew; Hindi; Indonesian; Irish; Italian; Japanese; Korean; Latin; Pashto; Persian (Farsi); Polish; Portuguese (Brazil); Russian; Spanish (Latin America); Spanish (Spain); Swahili; Swedish; Turkish; Urdu; and Vietnamese. Level 1 instruction only.
  • Sams Photofacts Sams Photofacts
    Schematics for small consumer electronics including radios; TVs; stereos; and VCRs from 1946 to present. Includes diagrams; instructions and data for the repair technician.
  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
    Historic maps from 1867-1970. Provides access to 2448 large-scale maps of 573 California towns and cities. Users can manipulate; magnify; zoom; and layer maps from different years.
  • Science In Context Science In Context
    Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines; academic journals; news articles; experiments; images; videos; audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • SDPL Digital Archive (CONTENTdm) SDPL Digital Archive (CONTENTdm)
    The SDPL Digital Archive allows you to explore unusual and rare materials in the San Diego Public Library's collections. These include items in the Wangenheim Collection; such as Babylonian Clay tablets; fore-edge paintings; illuminated manuscripts; and more.
  • Small Business Resource Center Small Business Resource Center
    Search this database to learn how to start; finance or manage your small business. Resources include; sample business plans; how to guides; articles and websites
  • Social Studies Fact Cards - California Social Studies Fact Cards - California
    A series of research resources for quick reference for students in grades 4 through 8. The Fact Card topics are those California topics included in the social studies curriculum in California; such as California missions; tribes; etc.
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
    Financial reporting on investment devices; companies; industries; and the economy.
  • Testing & Education Reference Center Testing & Education Reference Center
    Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
  • U.S. History In Context U.S. History In Context
    U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people; events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines; academic journals; news articles; primary source documents; images; videos; audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • World History In Context World History In Context
    World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people; events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines; academic journals; news articles; primary source documents; images; videos; audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • WorldCat First Search WorldCat First Search
    Find locations and information about millions of books; magazines; and other materials in libraries worldwide.
  • Zinio Zinio
    Access digital magazines from a wide range of publishers.